Quick Answer: What Happens If I Erase A Device From Find My IPhone?

What does it mean to erase a device?

Erase device: Permanently deletes all data on your phone (but might not delete SD cards).

After you erase, Find My Device won’t work on the phone.

Important: If you find your phone after erasing, you’ll likely need your Google Account password to use it again.

Learn about device protection..

Can I erase my iPhone from another device?

If you’ve lost your iPhone or iPad and want the peace of mind knowing any stored data will not be accessed, you can also remotely wipe your device. Go to www.iCloud.com and enter your Apple ID then click on the Find My iPhone icon. Click on the option All Devices > chose the device you want to erase.

How do I completely wipe my iPhone?

How to erase all data from your iPhone or iPadLaunch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.Now tap on General.Scroll to the bottom and tap on Reset. … Tap on Erase All Content and Settings.Tap on Erase Now.Enter your Passcode.More items…•

Does wiping a phone remove everything?

A simple factory reset doesn’t completely wipe all the data from your phone, so all your files can be easily recovered. Encrypted data means that even if the new owner of your device tries to restore your data, they won’t be able to access it.

Does factory reset remove all data?

When you do a factory reset on your Android smartphone, it’s supposed to wipe it clean, but it doesn’t. It deletes the addresses of all of your data, so it no longer knows where it’s stored, but it doesn’t actually overwrite the data.

How long does it take to erase a device from Find My iPhone?

The erasure standard “Apple iOS erasure” erases the device using Cryptographic Erase. This takes 5-15 minutes. The other erasure standards erase the device first with Cryptographic Erase and then overwrite the encrypted storage using the selected erasure standard. This takes 10-120 minutes.

What happens if I erase my device from iCloud?

What happens when you erase a device in Find My? Activation Lock remains on to protect your device. Your Apple ID and password are required to reactivate it. … Any credit or debit cards set up for Apple Pay, student ID cards, and Express Transit cards are removed from your device.

How do I deactivate my old iPhone and activate my new iPhone?

AppleBack up your old phone. Previous iPhone User: Plug in your iPhone & open iTunes® or iCloud® to initiate backup. … Turn off your old phone. Otherwise, your new phone activation won’t process.Activate your iPhone. Turn on your new iPhone and follow the Setup Assistant’s onscreen instruction. … Sync your iPhone.

Is erase iPhone the same as factory reset?

It is not. Erase all content and settings on the iPhone only erases content and resets the system to default settings. Restore as new in iTunes restores your device’s software from the ground up.

Does erasing iPhone delete iCloud?

No, factory resetting your iPhone will not alter your iCloud. Upon setting up your iPhone again you will be given the option to reconnect to your iCloud account if you desire. iCloud also stores iPhone backups that you can restore your phone from.

How do I delete a device?

Go to Settings and select Backup and Reset. Select Factory Data Reset and select Reset Device.

Does erase all content and settings remove Apple ID?

The option Erase all content and settings is making the phone brand new with no configurations. This will remove your Apple ID, apps, etc. Before doing so, ensure you have everything backed up.

How do you cancel erase on Find my Device?

How To Cancel An Android Remote Wipe: Real SolutionShut down all data communications by removing the SIM and shutting down your WIFI network.Boot. Log into the phone. Switch to plane mode. Go to Settings>Security>Device Administrators>Disable ADM.Backup your data (optional)Reboot, re-enable ADM.

Does erase iPhone delete everything?

When you tap Erase All Content and Settings, it completely erases your device, including any credit or debit cards you added for Apple Pay and any photos, contacts, music, or apps. It will also turn off iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other services.

Can I erase my iPhone if it is offline?

If you erase an offline device and find it before it comes online again, you can cancel the erase request. In the Devices list, tap the device whose erase you want to cancel. Tap Cancel Erase, then enter your Apple ID password.